Ministerial Office Ministerial Decision Report



General Information	
Ministerial Decision Type	Appointment
Report Title	Criminal Injuries Compensation Board: Reappointment of members
Minister	Home Affairs
Signatory	Minister
Lead Department	Justice and Home Affairs (JHA)
Ministerial Decision Summary: Public or Absolutely/Qualified Exempt	Public Select if more than one Absolutely/Qualified Exemption.
Date decision made if different to date 'Ministerial Decision Summary' signed.	Select date.
Report and Supplemental Report Details	
Report Author	Private Secretary
Date of Report	17/05/2022
Ministerial Decision Report: Public or Absolutely/Qualified Exempt	Public Select if more than one Absolutely/Qualified Exemption.
Action required if recommendation agreed	Department to take necessary action.
Resource Implications	There are no new financial and/or manpower implications.

Ministerial Office Ministerial Decision Report



Introduction

Members of the Criminal Injuries Compensation Board (the Board) make decisions in respect of whether to award compensation, and the level of any compensation, to victims of crimes under the <u>Criminal Injuries Compensation Scheme</u> (the Scheme).

Members are appointed by the Minister and, according to the terms of the Scheme, there must be no more than 12 members, at least three of whom must be advocates or solicitors of not less than 5 years' standing (legal members).

The Scheme provides that the appointment of members in the first instance is for a period of five years, and appointments are renewable for such periods as the Minister may think appropriate thereafter.

On 1 January 2017 appointments were made to the Board for both legal and lay members (MD-HA-2016-0082) for a period of five years. Those terms therefore expired on 1st January 2022 and the following members therefore require reappointment:

- Advocate Lee Ingram, Chairman
- Advocate Christopher Hillier, Legal Member
- Ms Linzi Mudge, Lay Member
- Mr Nigel Collier Webb, Lay Members

Recommendation

The Minister is recommended to approve the appointments, effective from 1 January 2022 to 31 January 2022.

Office Minnistéthielle Gouvèrnément d'Jèrri